I still remember the first time I found out about New Year’s resolutions from my school teacher: growing up in a Russian family, we simply didn’t have that sort of tradition, as the New Year was our equivalent Christmas (the latter not being celebrated at all). But over the years, our family culture shifted to adopt some British traditions, and I think now it’s time for me to make New Year resolutions for the first time.

Changes are most effective when they’re gradual, so I’ll start of small… Or at least, I’ll try to, as sometimes I can be a little overambitious.

  1. Write a blog entry every day – I’ve been doing well at that for the past couple of days, so I’ll try to keep it up
  2. Meditate more often (initially, at least once a week)
  3. Try to improve my time organisation with to do lists/weekly goals/etc

That last one is a pretty big one, as it ranges from finding more time for music practice to spending a little more time on my arts and crafts, from spending more time with my family to doing more sport… so hopefully it should give me an all-round benefit.

While thinking about my resolutions today, I came across the article “10 simple exercises that will strengthen your willpower” at http://www.willpowered.co/learn/strengthen-your-willpower?utm_source=Outbrain&utm_medium=CPC&utm_campaign=Strengthen%20Your%20Willpower which curiously had some similarities with my resolutions. It was quite reassuring for me to see that, as I consider myself as having fairly low willpower, especially when it comes to motivation. So if all goes to plan, I will not only improve in a weak area, but it will also raise my self-esteem, which is also useful!

Now, to set the year going right, here’s my to do list for today:

  1. Violin practice
  2. Meditation
  3. Revise Latin in order to do a timed essay tomorrow
  4. Do some exercise

I wish you all the best of luck in keeping your resolutions!

Leave a Reply

